Accreditation is an valuable addition allowing councils to benchmark and receive expert feedback. 



Accreditation with Welcoming Cities benchmarks councils across the six categories of the Standard. Councils provide evidence of active policies and programs. Accreditation through Welcoming Cities has a range of benefits, including:

  • Increasing the impact of council initiatives for the whole community
  • Providing a mechanism to plan for improvement and change
  • A positive and welcoming reputation; and,
  • Opportunities for shared learning

Accreditation is an optional undertaking for members of the Welcoming Cities network who want to better understand where their council is positioned in regard to social cohesion and economic participation across the community.

In order to ensure the programs and policies demonstrated in the assessment stay current, accreditation must be renewed every three years.


To cater for the diversity of Local Councils, and their communities, The Welcoming Cities Standard has a range of assessment and accreditation levels. 

Guide to Successful Accreditation

Assessment is completed through the purpose built Accreditation Portal.

Accredited Councils – Advanced

Accredited Councils – Established